237130_A2_Wk4_Task#1_Part B_Planning and Preparation_Approaches to essay planning and writing_15/04/16

EDIT Assessment 2, Week 4, Task 1B copy
McGrath, Molly. Advantages and disadvantages of the various approaches to essay planning and writing. Photograph. 15 April 2016.

Unlike the architect writer, I struggle to make a plan for my essay (or even drafts), and tend to “plunge” into my work as the diver writer does. However, I differ from the diver writer in that I usually have a fair idea of what my essay is going to be about before I begin. I do tend to cut out and add in material while in the process of writing an essay; chopping and changing out sentences as I develop my key points and alter my ideas. In this way, I take inspiration from the patchwork style of essay writing – although I don’t tend to make, revisit, or add to drafts. My ideas are almost fully-formed in my head before I write them down, and therefore they do not need to be “fitted together” with the kind of planning a patchwork writer requires.

I am, without a doubt, a grand plan writer. First and foremost, I like to examine every aspect of the essay brief to ensure I’m addressing as much of it as possible. Rigorous reading, research, and note-taking and retaking allows me to form a rough but coherent essay in my mind, which I’ll then write, revising as I go.

Reading that this was actually a common method of going about writing an essay was somewhat reassuring for me, as I had assumed the way I approached essay writing wasn’t very appropriate for the academic environment. Everybody else seemed to do large amounts of planning, drafting, and redrafting; something I’ve never felt the need to do.

Leave a Reply

